Newsletter 7: January 2016

Kilby St Mary’s C of E Primary School


Newsletter


Issue 7 18th January 2016

 

Phillippa Denney, Headteacher

 

 

Artsmark

One of Kilby’s school development priorities for this year is to apply for the Artsmark Award. This is awarded in recognition of the school’s work in the arts. Mrs Turner, our art coordinator is working hard to ensure the pupils have high quality, varied and valuable learning experiences in art and the performing arts. You will have seen and heard about many of the exciting things the pupils have been doing including creating pieces for our gallery. They have also worked with professional artists and had opportunities to perform in assemblies, services and in collaborative school projects such as the dance festival.

 

Phonics Success

Following the introduction of the Ruth Miskin spelling programme last year, we have seen a real improvement in the way pupils are learning to spell. The programme develops pupils phonics knowledge at their specific ability level and the daily 20mins input has had a very positive impact.

 

British Values

We will be holding a British Values day on Friday 22nd January. Each class will be focusing on one of the Governments identified key ‘British Values’ which should be part of each child’s education:

Class 1 – Rule of Law

Class 2 – Respect and Tolerance

Class 3 – Individual Liberty

Class 4 – Democracy

 

Maths Success

We are delighted with the progress that pupils are making in KS1 following the introduction of a new maths programme ‘Singapore Maths’. We hope to introduce this new approach into class 3 in September 2016.

 

Date Change

Parents Evening will now be on Tuesday 22nd March

Dates for 2016

Friday 22nd January British Values Day

Friday 5th February Class 2 and family assembly

Tuesday 9th February DT afternoon

Friday 12th February School Closes

Monday 22nd February School Opens

Friday 4th March Mothers’ Day Assembly

Tuesday 22nd March Parents Evening

Wednesday 23rd March Easter Service

March 24th School Closes for Easter Break

NO ASC ON THURSDAY 24TH MARCH

Monday 11th April School Opens

Tuesday 3rd May Y6 Parents Evening

Friday 6th May Class 1 and family assembly

Monday 9th May KS2 SATs begin

Monday 9th May – Friday 13th May Assessment Week for all classes

Friday 20th May Class 3 assembly

Thursday 26th May Enrichment Afternoon

Thursday 26th May School Closes

NO ASC ON THURSDAY 26TH MAY

Monday 6th June School Opens

Friday 17th June Fathers’ Day Assembly

Tuesday 21st June and Thursday 23rd June Parents Evening

Monday 27th June Sports Afternoon

Thursday 14th July Leavers Service 2pm

15th July School Closes



  • Kilby St Mary's Church of England (Aided) Primary School,
  • Main Street, Kilby, Wigston,
  • Leicester,
  • LE18 3TD
  • Tel: 0116 2402434
Governor Log In Admin Log In
Guestbook